Europe 2014 (and timezones)

It is always sad to leave a place to which one knows one will never return. Such are the melancolies du voyage: perhaps they are one of the most rewarding things about traveling.

I’m typing this on the plane back from Paris to Singapore with 7 and a half more hours of flight time ahead and feeling so heavy hearted haha. 12 days in Europe and i think I’ve just about had the best trip of my life hahahaha I really do not want to come back. I don’t miss chinese food, I’m not really that homesick, and I REALLY do not want to go back to the furnace gah. So anyway, I went to Wales > London > Prague > Paris and I honestly had fun there! I went with only my aunt so it got a little lonely cos bro and the cuzs weren’t there but it’s alrighty, she was still good company nonetheless 🙂 I think I fell in love with all three countries, but Paris more I think heh. Prague wasn’t too bad; it has it’s own charm and all but I didn’t really know how to appreciate it and I think also because it was way too cold (we’re talking -2 degrees but feels like -8 here) for me to properly enjoy hahaha but I’m so glad I got the chance to go there anyway. Oh but CHRISTMAS IN PRAGUE IS JUST GORGEOUS AHHHH IT WAS SO SO SO PRETTY with the lights and trees and everything *ᴗ* I really want to go back some day. I think Paris now almost holds the same feeling that surfers paradise does for me. Am honestly and genuinely so blessed and thankful and appreciative to be able to get this chance to travel to these places, to see the Big Ben, London Eye, Hyde park, Tower of London, Prague Castle, Charles bridge, Old Town Square, Louvre Museum, Eiffel Tower, Versailles (was super excited when we went into the hall of mirrors at the palace of Versailles cos that was where they signed the Treaty of Versailles #historystudent 😉 ) and so much more. Hands down the best holiday I’ve had, on par with SP. I was danggg sad to leave Paris and I almost cried as the plane took off from CDG airport in Paris hahahahaha fml.

This trip just served to reinforce my love for travelling and how exciting the world out there is. There’s so much to see, so much to experience, so much to learn. Oh did I mention we saw Liam Neeson at paddington station in London hahahahaah. There were things I’ve never seen before in Prague, there were experiences that I wouldn’t have gained if I haven’t gone on this trip (i.e. Taking the London Underground (it was mad hahahaha), taking the Metro in Paris and the old streets in Prague), there were things I’ve learnt etc.

They say you leave a part of yourself in every place you’ve been and I think that’s true. Each time I left a place, I felt like I was leaving a small, tiny part of me behind too. And I think it works both ways — just as you leave something behind, you also take something away. And I think I’ve taken with me a little essence of Wales, London, Prague, and Paris. I left wales feeling a little more English (hahahahahaha), left London feeling a little more cosmopolitan, left prague feeling inspired to learn new languages and am now actually thinking of studying languages in uni huehuehue, and lastly, I left Paris 80% determined to learn French hehehe and I wanna come back to just sit at a cafe and sip a cup of hot drink and watch the world go by 😛 (my aunt said she can see me doing that :’D) so yeah I feel quite sad that I’m leaving but I guess all good things must come to an end… WELL, more exciting things await!!! (I hope)

IMG_8225.JPG

IMG_8524.JPG

IMG_8631.JPG

IMG_8666.JPG

IMG_8803.JPG

IMG_8935.JPG

IMG_9090.JPG

IMG_8950.JPG

One of the reason why I don’t want to go back is because I don’t want to have to keep up with the stress of social acceptance and expectance. when I’m back, I have to start communicating with people propeller and sometimes it’s just so emotionally tiring to have to deal with people. Don’t get me wrong, I love my friends and I love going out with them and all but sometimes it gets very emotionally tiring. I think it’s a Gemini thing but I love it when I’m holidays like this cos I don’t have data so I’m not connected to the world most of the time so it’s just like me and the world. Whereas in Singapore i have wifi and data it’s like i am expected to reply people and have conversations and meet them when sometimes I just really like being alone and in a foreign place where no one knows me and I don’t have any expectations to uphold. Basically I like that when I’m on holiday, I am on my own. It is just me and the world, mine to explore without having to care about anyone/anything I know. Just excitement and fulfilment. and that’s what made this trip even more special bc in Europe the timezone is different, so when it’s like 4/5pm in the afternoon in Europe, it’s like 12/1am in Singapore. I realised this while walking along the streets of Paris at about 8.45pm paris time (4.55am Singapore time): it is just literally me and the world now. For real. Bc everyone I know in my entire life is asleep. Except for me, trawling through the streets of Paris and exploring. And that thrilled (thrills) me so much. I loved that I was alone in the whole world, so to speak. That I was the only one awake when everyone else was asleep. That the world, the time, and the feelings are solely mine to feel and take and use and they are so pure and free. I think that’s probably also why I’m usually always staying up till 3/4am at night cos I am truly alone.

Wherever you go becomes a part of you somehow.

We leave something of ourselves behind when we leave a place, we stay there, even though we go away. And there are things in us that we can find again only by going back there.

Leave a Reply

