Give thanks in all circumstances

Hi, I’m sorry for the unplanned hiatus but I’ve been really busy working and all so I don’t really have the luxury of time to properly draft up a post 😦 but I guess I shall do one now because my head is in a mess. I received my A level results today and I think I’d be lying if I said I’m not disappointed. I had a good cry over it in the toilet when I was showering and now my upper lip is swollen af. But I suppose, I have a lot more to be thankful about and what’s done is already done so I should try to look on the brighter side of things (hence the title of the post).

My results really aren’t anything to moon over and it really is very very very mediocre. In fact, if you think about it, it’s not even mediocre — in fact, it is quite bad if you look at the grades alone. Rank Points wise however, it doesn’t seem that bad but well, who bothers to count RPs right???? I mean, no one’s going to bother to count how much your H2 A is worth, or how many points your H1 B is. What people see will be grades on your cert and that’s it. So for what it’s worth, I really am disappointed.
I wasn’t really expecting anything but you know, you always harbour that tiny ray of hope. and I guess for me, my results fell short. To some, my results might be good enough but personally, I just felt like i could have done better. There are a couple of things I regret, but I suppose at the same time, I also have a number of things to be thankful for. I just hope that it is good enough to get me into the course I want.

So, whatever it is, I am (trying to be) thankful and I’m so glad there’s finally some closure to this hell also know as A levels. So proud of all my friends who’ve done so well and improved by leaps and bounds!!!!! It’s no mean feat!! And whoop whoop so proud of my class – third in the arts cohort!!!!!! SmileySmiley so proud man, so so SO proud :’) (technically though we’re second cos first was a08 and they are the scholar class cos + they have some 4H2s HAHAHAHA)
I’ve learnt a lot throughout the two years in JC and even during the collection of results. I have to say, disappointment and regret are just about the two worst feelings ever so I guess from here on, I just have to work hard for whatever I want and take the chances I get (read: live my life to the fullest) so that I avoid feeling disappointed and regretting. Thank you SA for two splendid years, thank you to all my extremely patient teachers who have put up with my stupidity and endless questions, thank you to my friends for going through this whole shit with me, thank you to my family for believing in me regardless, and thank God for everything (not a Christian but well, I was from SA 😉 and it has shown me that sometimes, bible verses are very comforting).

Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

– 1 Thessalonians 5:18

Leave a Reply

